A Prayer that my Father taught me for Lent

In our home, we did not pray together except for grace at meals, which I introduced when I was about eight years old. I had been taught at a Sunday School session that this was a good thing to do and the Lord would be pleased. My parents seemed a little uncomfortable at the beginning when I asked them to pray with me at each meal. The prayer before meals became a part of our lives.

My father seemed to be proud of me and shared with me that he also had a prayer that he wished to share with me. I believe that he prayed this prayer in the privacy of his bedroom because once I saw him in his back-flapped long underwear on his knees at his bedside at night as I walked from the bathroom passing by my parents bedroom with their door ajar.

My father was in a happy place when he shared the following prayer with me. He said that it is a special prayer to be prayed throughout Lent. He was taught by his parents and now he was teaching me. He prayed this prayer in Ukrainian and I did my best to pronounce the words and to have a reverent heart. I share it with you. This is the English translation of that prayer and now my best friend, my husband, and I pray this prayer daily throughout Lent.

May you be as blessed as I have been though out my life because of this prayer. When my father taught me this prayer his instructions were to get on my knees and at the end of the prayer to touch my head to the floor as an act of surrender and love to God. This prayer is repeated 12 times.

Having suffered the Passion for us,
Jesus Christ, Son of God,have mercy on us.

Prostration

 

Copyright © 2014 Gloria Winn, all rights reserved.

 

About gloriawinn

Gloria Winn is an author and speaker/presenter. She has written a book Tears which was released in 2012 and is now available on amazon.ca and amazon.com. Also, she has has a column for a national community newspaper where she writes under a pen name. Gloria has several other blogs, one of which is "Small Things with Great Love" where she shares her spiritual insights. and another which is "For His Glory" where she shares personal life experiences. Check out her website also - "gloriawinn.com." Gloria is a mother of three sons and a grandmother to nine grandchildren. Gloria is a wife to her husband of many years and they have together been speakers/presenters to young people and particularly married couples.
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Prayer that my Father taught me for Lent

  1. Melina says:

    Thanks Gloria…I will pray this prayer also for the rest of lent. 🙂

Leave a Reply

