Serving Others

As a Christian, I am a servant of the Lord. Part of my mission to know, love and serve God is to love others. Jesus revealed the type of service that He wants all of us to be ready to do. He showed us how during the experience of the Last Supper.

John 14:4, 5, 12-17

”….so he got up from the meal, took off his outer clothing, and wrapped a towel around his waist. After that, he poured water into a basin and began to wash his disciples’ feet, drying them with the towel that was wrapped around him.

When he had finished washing their feet, he put on his clothes and returned to his place. “Do you understand what I have done for you?” he asked them. “You call me ‘Teacher’ and ‘Lord,’ and rightly so, for that is what I am. Now that I, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also should wash one another’s feet. I have set you an example that you should do as I have done for you. Very truly I tell you, no servant is greater than his master, nor is a messenger greater than the one who sent him. Now that you know these things, you will be blessed if you do them.”

I have been asked the question “Who has served you?” When I sit with this question in my heart and listen, I am reminded of many, many people over the years who have served me. A few stand out more than others. One time stands out. When I was in depression because of a crib death and in a dark place, I was welcomed and prayed for by many special faith-filled people. They helped love me back to life so much that I wanted to love God with them. A few were chosen by God to serve me in a different way. They listened to me. They did not advise me, nor chastise me, or provide direction. They did not judge me. They opened their hearts and welcomed me, again and again. As I began to take up my life again, they pointed me to the Lord, the Healer.

I have also been asked “Who have you served?” I have served many but not as many as have served me. I am so grateful to God that His measuring stick is different from the world’s. When I have served from a wrong motive, that is my wanting approval from people, then there was no good fruit. When I have served because I believed that the Lord was asking me to do it for Him, then it changed everything. The fruits of the Holy Spirit were evident (love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control) to some degree. If my heart was right and motive correct, then those whom I served felt blessed by God.

And now I pass along the two questions that were asked of me. I struggled in my own answers. What are your answers to these questions?

Who has served you?

And

Who have you served?

Copyrighted © 2012 Gloria Winn, all rights reserved.

About gloriawinn

Gloria Winn is an author and speaker/presenter. She has written a book Tears which was released in 2012 and is now available on amazon.ca and amazon.com. Also, she has has a column for a national community newspaper where she writes under a pen name. Gloria has several other blogs, one of which is "Small Things with Great Love" where she shares her spiritual insights. and another which is "For His Glory" where she shares personal life experiences. Check out her website also - "gloriawinn.com." Gloria is a mother of three sons and a grandmother to nine grandchildren. Gloria is a wife to her husband of many years and they have together been speakers/presenters to young people and particularly married couples.
This entry was posted in Articles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

